Rumble @ 1Rebel Review (Boxing)

Classpass is proving to be a great and wonderful thing. I’d always wanted to try out a 1REBEL class but was deterred by the high price tag. I got my chance with Classpass.

img_5502

Entrance to the studios

I booked into a RUMBLE class with the brilliant Lisa, a boxing gold medallist. I was sure she wouldn’t be punching “like a girl”. Upon arrival, I was struck by the slick decor and the friendly reception team. 1Rebel has three studios, one with punch bags for Rumble, one with bikes for Ride and one with what looked like treadmills and weights for Reshape.

1rebel-gym-broadgate-s261115-g-21

Rumble studio

I got my boxing gloves (£1 rental), wraps (£4 to buy) and entered the studio.  The music was pumping and the aggression levels were high (in a very good way). Lisa led us through a series of different punches and kicks, we were taught to jab, hook, uppercut, knee, roundhouse kick and side kick, all in quick succession. At the start of the session I thought it would have been nice to have a bit more time to get the hang of the technical side but actually it wasn’t an issue as Lisa was more than happy to go through them in more detail with me one-on-one at the end of the class.

We boxed for 4 minutes, then did cardio for 3 minutes, then more boxing, then more cardio, then MMA, then more cardio, then kicking, then cardio. You get the idea. And don’t think for a moment that the cardio was to recover between the boxing rounds. The cardio was a full on HIIT workout in itself containing everything from lunges, squats, burpies, press ups, planks and a combination of all of these (seemingly at the same time). The music really helped to keep me motivated and the colour of the lights cleverly changed between boxing and cardio, keeping me focussed. Bar Bikram, I don’t think I’ve ever sweated so much in a class, so good!

sb-main

1rebel-rumble-review-womens_health_uk__medium_4x3

These are promotional images, I’m sure I looked just as good…

I think that having Lisa as my instructor really helped. It was quite amazing to see how strong she was and to see that punchbag fly across the middle of the room when she struck it.

Things I particularly liked: Lisa demonstrating the punch and kick combos in the middle of the room, the fact that she moved around so that we could all see, the music, the round of freestyle box/kick and the FIERCE PLANK ROUND. Oh yes, I do love a good plank very much.

Things I disliked: The fact that I can’t quit my job and do this all day.

Finally, the facilities at 1Rebel are some of the best. Heated seats, lots of locker space, mirrors, GHD hairdryers, plastic bags for gym gear and even a fridge of chilled towels. I can wholeheartedly say that the showers were the best showers I’ve ever experienced in a gym, flat, house, actually pretty much anywhere in the UK. I’m not wealthy enough to stay in the super-luxe hotels here in London so I can’t see this statement changing anytime soon.

img_5484

Powerful showers

FullSizeRender

I definitely will be back for another Rumble class and can’t wait to try out the Ride and Reshape classes too!

www.1rebel.co.uk https://www.instagram.com/1rebeluk/ | @1rebeluk

Leave a Reply

